In January 1979, the University of Southern California Trojans met Michigan in the annual Rose Bowl. In the second quarter, USC running back Charles White dove into the end zone to score for a second Trojans touchdown. Though the ball had come loose on the play, the line judge ruled that White had crossed the goal line before the fumble. Michigan battled back and narrowed the gap but USC won the game 17?10.
Unfortunately, replays later showed that White had clearly lost possession of the ball before entering the end zone. White's verdict? "I was just layin' it down in the end zone for the ref to pick up, like I always do."
[In 1982, USC beat Notre Dame in similar fashion, prompting Michigan coach Bo Schembechler to remark, "USC has really perfected that play."]